

Unity – Professionalism – Advocacy – Academics – Excellence Unité – Professionnalisme – Plaidoyer – Universitaires – Excellence

March By-Election Meeting 2024

CAPSI National Council Meeting

Virtual via Zoom Sunday, March 10th

Executive Council By-Elections

Location: Zoom 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm ADT

Meeting Link

Meeting ID: 821 0314 8828 | Passcode: 626115

1. Call to Order M. Wong

M. Wong calls the meeting to order at 6:03 pm ADT.

2. Land Acknowledgement (2 min)

M. Wong

3. Attendance (5 min)

C. Stevenson

Name	Position	Attendance
Madison Wong	President	Present
Wooje Choi	President-Elect	Present
Christine Vaccaro	Past-President	Present
Cara Stevenson	Executive Secretary	Present
Bhawani Jain	Finance Officer	Absent
Ryan Chan	VP Communications	Absent
Melanie King	VP Education	Present
Nolan Barkhouse	VP Professional Affairs	Present
Farah Hadji	Student Exchange Officer	Present
Alissa Kong	IPSF Liaison	Present
Emma Fedusiak	Webmaster	Present
Jasmine Ly	CAPSIL Editor	Present
Jacqueline Tian-Tran	CSHP Student Liaison	Present
Jeevan Gill	UBC Junior Representative	Absent
Mark Seo	UBC Senior Representative	Absent

	•	
Angela Zhao	Alberta Junior Representative	Present
Zachary Yopek-Stabel	Alberta Senior Representative	Present
Hannah Bouvier	Saskatchewan Junior Representative	Present
Meagan Wenzel	Saskatchewan Senior Representative	Present
Allison Lage	Manitoba Junior Representative	Present
Kezra Gerbrandt	Manitoba Senior Representative	Present
Cassandra Van Drunen	Waterloo Junior Representative	Absent
Stephanie Lo	Waterloo Senior Representative	Present
Meriam Salih	Toronto Junior Representative	Present
Ayman Lakhani	Toronto Senior Representative	Present
Mélisande Logelin	Ottawa Junior Representative	Present
Alexia Laurin	Ottawa Senior Representative	Present
Roselyn Lu	Montréal Junior Representative	Absent
Florence Bédard Perrault	Montréal Senior Representative	Present
Hassan Abbas-Harnois	Laval Junior Representative	Present
Joe Kamal	Laval Senior Representative	Present
Alex Wade	Dalhousie Junior Representative	Absent
Madison Bell	Dalhousie Senior Representative	Present
Alexis Young	MUN Junior Representative	Present
Madison Legge	MUN Senior Representative	Present

4. Executive Council By-Election Discussions

C. Stevenson

<u>Background:</u> Each current executive council member (with the exception of the President and the Past President) will be granted one (1) vote. A Senior Representative, Junior Representative, or appointed delegate will be granted two (2) votes, plus one (1)

additional vote for every two-hundred (200) CAPSI General Student Members at their respective faculty of pharmacy.

School	By-Election Votes
UBC	2
UofA	4
USask	2
UofM	2
Waterloo	3
UofT	6
UOttawa	2
UdeM	5
Laval	5
Dal	3
MUN	2

Voting Executives:

- 1) President-Elect
- 2) Executive Secretary
- 3) VP Education
- 4) VP Communications
- 5) Finance Officer
- 6) VP Professional Affairs
- 7) IPSF Liaison
- 8) Student Exchange Officer
- 9) Webmaster
- 10) CAPSIL Editor

Opinions regarding the candidate(s) will be asked for in the following order:

- 1. Current position holder
- 2. Local representatives from the applicant's school
- 3. Local representatives from West to East

4. Executive members

Votes will be sent out immediately following the conclusion of the by-elections meeting, and will be due within one hour of distribution.

a. Executive Secretary

i. Bre Morrison (USask)

Motion to move in camera at 6:08 pm ADT.

M. Wong / J. Kamal

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 6:33 pm ADT.
M. Wong / W. Choi

Motion carried.

M. Wenzel left the meeting at 6:34 pm ADT.

b. VP Professional Affairs

i. Meagan Wenzel (USask)

Motion to move in camera at 6:34 pm ADT.

M. Wong / N. Barkhouse

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 6:55 pm ADT.

M. Wong / Z. Yopek-Stabel

Motion carried.

M. Wenzel re-enters the meeting at 6:55 pm ADT. F. Hadji enters the meeting at 6:55 pm ADT.

c. IPSF Liaison

i. Lindsay Zhao (Waterloo)

Motion to move in camera at 6:56 pm ADT.

M. Wong / N. Barkhouse

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 7:12 pm ADT.
M. Wong / M. King

Motion carried.

d. Webmaster

i. Marc Herrera (UofM)

Motion to move in camera at 7:12 pm ADT.

M. Wong / K. Gerbrandt

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 7:28 pm ADT.

M. Wong / Z. Yopek-Stabel

Motion carried.

K. Gerbrandt left the meeting at 7:28 pm ADT.

e. CAPSIL Editor

i. Kezra Gerbrandt (UofM)

Motion to move in camera at 7:29 pm ADT.

M. Wong / J. Kamal

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 7:50 pm ADT.

M. Wong / A. Lakhani

Motion carried.

ii. Brietta Passalis (UofM)

Motion to move in camera at 7:51 pm ADT.

M. Wong / A. Kong

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 8:12 pm ADT.
M. Wong / S. Lo

Motion carried.

K. Gerbrandt re-enters the meeting at 8:13 pm ADT.

Motion for a 10-minute recess commencing at 8:13 pm ADT.

M. Wong / F. Bédard Perrault

Motion carried.

- M. Wong calls the meeting back to order at 8:24 pm ADT.
- M. Salih and A. Zhao left the meeting at 8:24 pm ADT.

f. President-Elect

i. Meriam Salih (UofT)

Motion to move in camera at 8:24 pm ADT.

M. Wong / W. Choi

Motion carried.

E. Fedusiak left the meeting at 8:50 pm ADT.

Motion to move out of camera at 8:56 pm ADT.
M. Wong / S. Lo

Motion carried.

ii. Angela Zhao (UofA)

Motion to move in camera at 8:57 pm ADT.

M. Wong / N. Barkhouse

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 9:29 pm ADT.

M. Wong / A. Laurin

Motion carried.

- M. Salih and A. Zhao re-enter the meeting at 9:29 pm ADT.
- Z. Yopek-Stabel and M. King left the meeting at 9:30 pm ADT.

g. VP Communications

i. Zach Yopek-Stabel (UofA)

Motion to move in camera at 9:30 pm ADT.

M. Wong / N. Barkhouse **Motion carried.**

Motion to move out of camera at 9:51 pm ADT.
M. Wong / N. Barkhouse

Motion carried.

ii. Melanie King (MUN)

Motion to move in camera at 9:52 pm ADT.

M. Wong / K. Gerbrandt

Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 10:16 pm ADT.
M. Wong / A. Kong

Motion carried.

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:16 pm ADT.
M. Wong / W. Choi

Motion carried.