

Unity – Professionalism – Advocacy – Academics – Excellence

# March By-Election Meeting 2023

# **CAPSI National Council Meetings**

Sunday, March 5, 2023 5 PM - 9 PM EST Location: Zoom

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/82762050496?pwd=UHInK1hYeXZSTS9ybkVmM1EwSXF2UT09

Meeting ID: 827 6205 0496 Passcode: 505133

# 1. Call to Order

C. Vaccaro called the meeting to order at 5:01 EST

# 2. Land Acknowledgement (2 min)

# 3. Attendance (5 min)

Name	Position	Attendance
Christine Vaccaro	President	Present
Madison Wong	President-Elect	Present
William Boudreau	Past-President	Present
Steven Huynh	Executive Secretary	Present
Kevin Huynh	Finance Officer	Present
Marianna Pozdirca	VP Communications	Present
Nawal Fatima	VP Education	Present
Lynn D'Souza	VP Professional Affairs	Present
Farah Hadji	Student Exchange Officer	Present
Nicole Bakowski	IPSF Liaison	Present
Jonathan Chan	Webmaster	Present
Al-Amin Ahamed	CAPSIL Editor	Absent
Abby Krupski	CSHP Student Liaison	Absent
Mark Seo	UBC Junior Representative	Absent
Aneet Grewal	UBC Senior Representative	Present
Zachary Yopek-Stabel	Alberta Junior Representative	Present
Jasmine Ly	Alberta Senior Representative	Present
Meagan Wenzel	Saskatchewan Junior Representative	Absent
Emma Fedusiak	Saskatchewan Senior Representative	Present

C. Vaccaro

C. Vaccaro

S. Huynh

Kezra Gerbrandt	Manitoba Junior Representative	Present	
Sandra Choi	Manitoba Senior Representative	tive Present	
Stephanie Lo	Waterloo Junior Representative Present		
Camille Huo	Waterloo Senior Representative	Present	
Ayman Lakhani	Toronto Junior Representative	Present	
Theodora Udounwa	Toronto Senior Representative	Present	
Florence Bédard Perrault	Montreal Junior Representative	Present	
Panteha Borzooeyan	Montreal Senior Representative	Present	
Joe Kamal	Laval Junior Representative	Present	
Hassan Lyoubi	Laval Senior Representative	Present	
Baraa Darwich	Dalhousie Junior Representative	Present	
Nolan Barkhouse	Dalhousie Senior Representative	Present	
Wooje Choi	MUN Junior Representative	Present	
Melanie King	MUN Senior Representative	Present	

# 4. 2022-2023 By-Election Discussions (4 hr)

#### S. Huynh

<u>Reminder</u>: Each current executive council member (with the exception of the President and the Past President) will be granted one (1) vote. A Senior Representative, Junior Representative, or appointed delegate will be granted two (2) votes, plus one (1) additional vote for every two-hundred (200) CAPSI General Student Members at their respective faculty of pharmacy. Voting Executives:

- 1) President-Elect
- 2) Executive Secretary
- 3) VP Education
- 4) VP Communications
- 5) Finance Officer
- 6) VP Professional Affairs
- 7) IPSF Liaison
- 8) Student Exchange Officer
- 9) Webmaster
- 10) CAPSIL Editor

Scrutineer: CSHP Liaison

<u>School</u>	Total Members	By-Election Votes
UBC	132	2
U of A	472	4
USask	116	2
U of M	191	2
UWaterloo	310	3
U of T	956	6
U de M	799	5
Laval	674	5
DAL	295	3
MUN	131	2

We will be asking for opinions about candidates in the following order:

- 1. Current position holder.
- 2. Local reps from the applicant's school.
- 3. Local reps from west to east (and then vice versa)
- 4. Executive members.

#### a. VP Communications

i. Florence Bedard Perrault, University of Montreal

### Motion to move in camera at 5:05 PM EST C. Vaccaro / N. Barkhouse Motion carried.

# Motion to move out of camera at 5:30 PM EST C. Vaccaro / W. Boudreau Motion carried.

ii. Ryan Chan, University of Saskatchewan

# Motion to move in camera at 5:31 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. Pozdirca Motion carried.

S. Lo leaves the room at 5:34 pm EST. S. Lo re-enters the room at 5:38 pm EST.

# Motion to move out of camera at 5:56 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

Joe and Florence entered the room at 5:57 pm EST. Farah left the room at 5:57 pm EST

### b. Student Exchange Officer

i. Farah Hadji, University of Montreal

Motion to move in camera at 5:57 PM EST C. Vaccaro / S. Lo Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 6:08 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. Pozdirca Motion carried.

Farah Hadji re-entered the room at 6:08 pm EST. Theodora left the room at 6:08pm EST. Theodora re-entered the room at 6:09 pm EST.

#### c. Executive Secretary

i. Cara Stevenson, Dalhousie University Motion to move in camera at 6:09 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 6:33 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

ii. Victoria Mikhnovskaya, University of Waterloo

Motion to move in camera at 6:33 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 6:44 PM EST C. Vaccaro / F. Bedard Perrault Motion carried. iii. Ashley Burghall, University of Saskatchewan

Motion to move in camera at 6:44 PM EST C. Vaccaro / E. Fedusiak Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 7:03 PM EST C. Vaccaro / C. Huo Motion carried.

C. Vaccaro will motion to recess until 7:13 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

C. Vaccaro called the meeting to order at 7:14 PM EST.

#### d. President-Elect i. Amitoj Kaur, University of Alberta

Motion to move in camera at 7:14 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

# Motion to move out of camera at 7:54 PM EST C. Vaccaro / E. Fedusiak Motion carried.

W.Boudreau left the room at 7:54 pm EST. Left comments to C.Vaccaro for IPSF Liaison and CAPSIL Editor candidates.

#### e. IPSF Liaison

i. Naomi Lozinski, University of Alberta

Motion to move in camera at 7:54 PM EST C. Vaccaro / S. Choi Motion carried.

### Motion to move out of camera at 8:07 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

ii. Alissa Kong, University of Toronto

# Motion to move in camera at 8:08 PM EST C. Vaccaro / K. Gerbrandt Motion carried.

- C. Huo left the room at 8:16pm EST.
- C. Huo re-entered the room at 8:18pm EST.

Motion to move out of camera at 8:19 PM EST C. Vaccaro / S. Lo Motion carried.

J. Ly left the room at 8:20 PM EST.

f. CAPSIL Editor

i. Jasmine Ly, University of Alberta

Motion to move in camera at 8:20 PM EST C. Vaccaro / T. Udounwa Motion carried.

Motion to move out of camera at 8:33 PM EST C. Vaccaro / M. King Motion carried.

J. Ly re-entered the room at 8:34 PM EST.

Motion to adjourn at 8:41 PM EST C. Vaccaro / S. Lo Motion carried.